8th July 2020
' Nominations Open '
6th August 2020
' Nominations Close '
14th October 2020
' Shortlist Announced '
4th December 2020
' Awards Ceremony '

The Cabinet Secretary’s Year of Inclusion Award

An award for an individual, team, group or network initiating and leading action to build inclusion for groups not likely to be covered by the five strand specific awards, or undertaking action to promote inclusion of multiple groups. Nominations should indicate how the nominee meets one or more of the following criteria:
 Lead Element:

  • Acts as a role model or ally in championing and building a more inclusive Civil Service, such as championing behaviours that build a more inclusive culture for everyone and/or stamping out behaviours which are not tolerated. 

Other Criteria:

  • Takes steps to make the Civil Service a better place for everyone to work by leading positive action or interventions to enable talented employees from underrepresented groups to realise their full potential.
  • Takes steps to embed inclusion in the application of policy. For example: inclusive recruitment, talent development, performance management, career development and promotion etc., or customer service delivery. 
  • Can demonstrate the impact of, and positive outcomes from, an intersectional approach (viewing personal demographics such as age, ethnicity, sexual orientation, social mobility, disability and gender in combination instead of in isolation).
  • Can demonstrate positive outcomes arising from their interventions for individuals and the organisation, and can demonstrate the potential for scaling up or demonstrating initiatives for other parts of the Civil Service. 
  • Applies evidence and customer insight to tackle issues effectively.